Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai

Ever since we got back from our 3 week vacation in Thailand we have been craving Pad Thai in our house, so much so that on our first day back in Canada we went to the mall and bought a Wok so that we could make it. We had a great recipe from the Basil Cookery School, we attended while we were in Chiang Mai, and we finally got to the grocery store and bought all the fresh ingridients we needed to make our Pad Thai. IMG_9450Needless to say, it was delicious but the calorie count was through the roof and we decided it would be a recipe we used for special occasions.IMG_9449

I’ve been on a weightloss journey for a bit now and I kind of fell of the wagon a bit in Thailand thanks to the countless noodle dishes I ate there. I’m sure I’m not the only one who would choose Pad Thai over a salad any day of the week. We bought a spaghetti squash a few weeks ago and kind of forgot about it so I thought that I would make it my lunch for the week to help get me back on the weight-loss wagon again. While searching for a creative way to use the spaghetti squash I found some reciepes for Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai and it just clicked!

I will make my Pad Thai reciepe from Basil with Spaghetti Squash!

I made a few adjustments to the recipe and I know not everyone has this stuff in their house so if you want some substitutions you can find them at the bottom. Again, I have adapted this recipe from the amazing folks at Basil Cookery in Chiang Mai.

Ingriedients:IMG_9453
1 cup spaghetti squash (cooked)
50 g prawn or chicken (optional)
1 egg
1/2 tsp small red chili (chopped)
1/2 tbsp garlic (chopped)
1/2 tbsp chives (chopped)
1/4 cup bean sprout
1 tbsp fish sauce*
1 tbsp oyster sauce**
1 tbsp tamarind juice***
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Optional Condiments:
lime juice, peanuts

Method:

  1. Heat the vegetable oil in the wok over medium heat.
  2. Mix fish sauce, oyster sauce, and tamarind sauce in a small bowl.
  3. Add garlic, chives, and chilis into the wok and fry until fragrant.
  4. Add prawn or chicken and stir until cooked through.
  5. Crack the egg in and stir until fully cooked. Add the spaghetti squash and continue to stir continuously.
  6. Add the sauce mix and stir until absorbed by the noodles.
  7. Add bean sprouts, stir quickly, then remove from heat.
  8. Enjoy!

*Worcestershire sauce makes a good substitue for fish sauce thanks to it’s meaty yet salty flavour. If all else fails you can use soya sauce.

**Soya sauce or hoisin sauce are both great substitutes. They won’t have the thick consistency that oyster sauce has but once added to the dish you won’t notice.

***I love tamarind sauce (it’s a bit sweet and a tad sour) and if it was easier to find I would use it all the time. Mix 1/2 tbsp brown sugar (or if you’re watching your waist, like me, the Truvia Brown Sugar Blend works well) with 1/2 tbsp white or rice vinegar.

I’m not usually a food blogger so my picture taking skill isn’t quite up to snuff BUT I’d love to know what you think of the recipe! Have you found any other great substitutes for some of the ingirendients that aren’t so common?

Leave a Reply

